Print Page | Sign In | Register
Aaron T. Beck Student Achievement Award
Share |

Nomination, Eligibility, and Selection Guidelines

Goal Statement

The Aaron T. Beck Student Achievement Award acknowledges excellence and accomplishments of graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and residents pursuing careers in the field of mental health and who are intent on using cognitive behavioral therapy as a guiding modality in either their delivery of client services or in their research.


The Aaron T. Beck Student Achievement Award is funded by an Academy of Cognitive Therapy endowment. The endowment is made possible with the generous support of the Academy of Cognitive Therapy members and Guilford Publications.


The candidate must be a graduate-level student, postdoctoral fellow or psychiatry resident both at the time of nomination and award presentation. Candidates must demonstrate a strong commitment to the practice and dissemination of cognitive behavioral therapy. Candidates must submit a poster, present on a panel, symposia, clinical round table, or conduct a workshop at the annual Association of Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies annual convention.

Nomination/ Application/ Selection Process

Nomination or application must include:

  1. Applicant’s CV.
  2. Letter of support from an ACT Diplomate, Fellow, or Founding Fellow. Letters must be submitted to the Academy at or near the same time the nominee submits his or her poster, panel presentation, or workshop proposal to the Association of Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies.
  3. If not included in applicant’s CV, a list of impactful actions, which helped disseminate cognitive behavioral therapy among academic peers or in the community (optional) or help further our understanding of outcomes, mediators, or moderators of CBT. 
  4. A poster submission, panel presentation, symposia, clinical round table, or workshop proposal to the Association of Behavioral Cognitive Therapies annual convention (verification of submission to ABCT and its acceptance is required). 

Applications will be evaluated in the following areas:

  1. Clinical knowledge 
  2. Publication or research in the field of cognitive behavioral therapy
  3. Quality/creativity of research, published work, or dissemination efforts
  4. Quality of research presented in poster submission, panel presentation, or workshop

Award Winner Responsibilities

The annual winner must attend the ACT Annual Meeting to accept the Aaron T. Beck Student Achievement award in person. The ACT Annual Meeting is held in conjunction with the ABCT annual convention and attendance at such meeting shall not require award winner to expend additional travel funds.

The annual winner of the Aaron T. Beck Student Achievement Award will have an opportunity to serve on the ACT Education Committee as a fellow for one calendar year. The winner will work with committee members on a project of the winner’s choosing.


Submissions accepted between June and August of each year.  Please send your materials to 

ATB Student Achievement Winners




Lorenzo Lorenzo-Luaces, MA

Doctoral Candidate in Psychology Clinical Training Program University of Pennsylvania