Print Page | Sign In | Register
2005 ATB Award Winner
Share |

David H. Barlow, Ph.D.


David H. Barlow received his Ph.D. from the University of Vermont in 1969 and has published over 500 articles and chapters including close to 50 books and clinical manuals, mostly in the area of emotional disorders and clinical research methodology. The book and manuals have been translated in over 20 languages, including Arabic, Mandarin, and Russian. 

He was formerly Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Mississippi Medical Center and Professor of Psychiatry and Psychology at Brown University and founded clinical psychology internships in both settings.

He was also Distinguished Professor in the Department of Psychology at the University at Albany, State University of New York. Currently, he is Professor of Psychology, Research Professor of Psychiatry, and Director of the Center for Anxiety and Related Disorders at Boston University.

Dr. Barlow is the recipient of the 2000 American Psychological Association (APA) Distinguished Scientific Award for the Applications of Psychology. He is also the recipient of the First Annual Science Dissemination Award from the Society for a Science of Clinical Psychology of the APA; and recipient of the 2000 Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award from the Society of Clinical Psychology of the APA. He also received an award in appreciation of outstanding achievements from the General Hospital of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army, Beijing, China, with an appointment as Honorary Visiting Professor of Clinical Psychology. During the 1997/1998 academic year, he was Fritz Redlich Fellow at the Center for Advanced Study in Behavioral Sciences, in Palo Alto, California.

Other awards include Career Contribution Awards from the Massachusetts, California, and Connecticut Psychological Associations; The 2004 C. Charles Burlingame Award from the Institute of Living in Hartford, Connecticut; The First Graduate Alumni Scholar Award from the Graduate College, The University of Vermont; The Masters and Johnson Award, from the Society for Sex Therapy and Research; G. Stanley Hall Lectureship, American Psychological Association; A certificate of appreciation for contributions to women in clinical psychology from Section IV of Division 12 of the APA, the Clinical Psychology of Women; and a MERIT award from the National Institute of Mental Health for long term contributions to the clinical research effort. He is Past-President of the Society of Clinical Psychology of the American Psychological Association and the Association for the Advancement of Behavior Therapy, Past-Editor of the journals Behavior Therapy, Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, and Clinical Psychology: Science and Practice, and currently Editor in Chief of the “Treatments that Work” series for Oxford University Press.

He was Chair of the American Psychological Association Task Force of Psychological Intervention Guidelines, was a member of the DSM-IV Task Force of the American Psychiatric Association, and was a Co-Chair of the Work Group for revising the anxiety disorder categories. He is also a Diplomat in Clinical Psychology of the American Board of Professional Psychology and maintains a private practice.